Skip to main content
Basket Preview
Your basket is empty.
Back to Posts

And the winners are...

Hosted by comedian David Walliams, alongside Hairdressers Journal International’s Executive Director, Jayne Lewis-Orr and Stuart Hamid, Schwarzkopf Professional's General Manager, the British Hairdressing Awards were held in the beloved Grosvenor House hotel, London. We were there, amongst a 1,700-strong turnout, to find out who took home the trophies on the night.

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 1
British Hairdressing Awards 2016 2

In between Walliams’ slightly corny jokes, the night was a wonderful opportunity to get up close and personal with some of the country’s most talented hairstylists and colourists. Guests were treated to a three-course meal – plus some decadent chocolates and the cutest table gifts featuring trial size versions of Schwarzkopf’s BC Fibre Force range. Once many of the regional winners had been announced, the youngest X Factor winner ever, Louisa Johnson, provided entertainment, singing three songs that got the entire ballroom on its feet.

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 3

On the night, Jayne Lewis-Orr said: “A British Hairdressing Award is the ultimate accolade in hairdressing and we couldn’t be more proud to present them to our winners today. The award demonstrates not only unabashed creativity and supreme technical skill, but also marks you out as one of the greatest hairdressers in the country.”

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 4

Here’s the full list of the winners!

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 5

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year:
Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room, Ballymena

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 6

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year:
Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Wolverhampton

North Western Hairdresser of the Year:
Marcello Moccia, Room 97 Creative Hairdressing, Wakefield

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year:

Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year:
Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro, Harrogate

Southern Hairdresser of the Year:
Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year:
Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year:
Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield

London Hairdresser of the Year:
Luke Benson, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 Avant Garde

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year:
Indira Schauwecker, TONI & GUY, Covent Garden

Newcomer of the Year:
William Lamb, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 7

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year:
Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield

British Hairdressing Awards 2016 8

Afro Hairdresser of the Year:
Robert Eaton and Karla Ancliff-Smith, Russell Eaton, Leeds

Artistic Team of the Year:
Angelo Vallillo Academy, Nottingham

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year:
Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds

British Hairdresser of the Year:
Angelo Seminara

A final thank you to Schwarzkopf Professional and Louise Wood and the rest of the team at LWPR for the invitation.

All imagery: